Enlightenment through A Child

I watch my grandson quite often for my daughter and son-in-law. It’s been an interesting journey being “Oma” and truly an inspiration of different ways of looking at the world. Even though I had the experience of having my own child, I think that the “grandchild adventure” is so much more enlightening and inspiring to my life and how it’s perceived. Slowing down and taking the time to watch him and what he does with toys, books, coloring with crayons, drawing with sidewalk chalk, playdoh, silly puddy, water, food, paints or pencils gives me many ideas that I never thought of before.

IMG_20160511_121338030

Thinking about my young grandson’s artistic nature inspired me to look through the box of art work and memories that I saved from my daughter’s younger years. Seeing the progression and changes of her artwork from young child to a young adult, made me realize that the mediums that she used were incredibly inspiring and creative. She even progressed from drawings of people, places and things all the way to clay pottery and used her complete imagination instead of trying to recreate something she saw. Many of those clay fired pots are still part of my household décor.

IMG_20160510_162638664          IMG_20160510_163835934

As adults, we limit our horizons when it comes to thinking of a creative idea. It doesn’t need to be in Illustrator or Photoshop at all. Perhaps it needs to start with a medium that we used as children and young adults. From there, we may discover that the best idea comes from our gut, our souls and our hearts.

IMG_20160426_203429221

Until next time, happy adventures!
The Inspirational Hippy

Leave a comment